Domröse, Angelica


Angelica Domröse was born in Berlin on April 4, 1941. She was a hit in her first leading role, in Slatan Dudow’s 1958 film, Verwirrung der Liebe, and subsequently studied acting at the Academy for Film and Television in Potsdam-Babelsberg from 1959 to 1961. On stage she acted in the Berliner Ensemble until 1967 and then at the Berlin Volksbühne until 1979. After her stellar screen performance in Effi Briest, she made her name as Paula in Die Legende von Paul und Paula, a popular hit and, later, cult classic.


In the mid-1970s, Angelica Domröse was actively involved in opposition to artistic and political oppression in the GDR and joined in protests against the forced expatriation of dissident singer-songwriter Wolf Biermann in 1976. In spite of acclaimed performances in Fleur Lafontaine and Bis dass der Tod euch scheidet, Domröse’s oppositional stance made it increasingly difficult to obtain acting parts, and many productions in which she appeared were cancelled or boycotted.  She and her husband, actor Hilmar Thate, finally elected to leave the GDR in 1980.


Domröse was able to obtain important film roles in the West and she acted on stage at the ThaliaTheater in Hamburg and the Schauspielhaus Bochum. Since 1992, Angelica Domröse has been a lecturer at the Ernst Busch Academy of Performing Arts in Berlin. In the 1990s she also starred as a police commissioner in the popular TV series, Polizeiruf 110. Since 2005, Domröse has been a guest performer at the Hans Otto Theater in Potsdam.



2011 Bis zum Horizont, dann links (All the Way to the Horizon, Then to the Left)
2003 Das Tal der Ahnungslosen (Valley of the Innocen
1991 Verfehlung (The Mistake)
1986 Fraulein: Ein deutsches Melodram (trans. Miss: A German Melodrama, Germany/Austria, TV)
1978 Bis daß der Tod euch scheidet (Until Death Do Us Part)
1977 Fleur Lafontaine (TV)
1976 Daniel Druskat (TV)
1973 Die Legende von Paul und Paula (The Legend of Paul and Paula)
1973 Unterm Birnenbaum (Under the Pear Tree)
1968 Effi Briest (TV)
1967 Ein Lord am Alexanderplatz (Lord of Alexander Square)
1965 Entlassen auf Bewährung (Let Off With Probation)
1964 Chronik eines Mordes (Story of a Murder)
1960 Die Liebe und der Co-Pilot (Love and the Co-Pilot)
1959 Verwirrung der Liebe (Love’s Confusion)

Shibboleth login